Attention! This site is NOT official gamefront site but just a third party mirror. DEFY Media is NOT responsible for it.

The Silver Lining

The Silver Lining (TSL) is an unofficial continuation to the King’s Quest series created by fans, which was granted official legal permission from King’s Quest copyright holder Vivendi Games, Inc. It was originally titled King’s Quest IX: Every Cloak Has A Silver Lining (KQIX); however this was changed as part of the agreement with Vivendi.

Under development by Phoenix Online Studios (POS), it claims to be one of the most professional fangames to date; it has grown to be one of the largest fangame projects when measured by team membership. The project was shut down for two months after its creators received a cease and desist order from Vivendi. It was revived after a successful letter writing campaign by fans, as well as a professional DVD portfolio created and delivered by the team itself. Following a second cease and desist order received from the new license-holder Activision in February 2010, the project was thought to be quashed. On June 26, 2010, Phoenix Online Studios announced that Activision had decided to allow The Silver Lining to be released. The game‘s story originally encompassed nine chapters, which have now been condensed into five episodes.

Episode 1: What is Decreed Must Be was released on 1PM EST July 10, 2010 as a free download, with the rest of the episodes to follow later in 2010 also as free downloads.

The Silver Lining at a Glance

  • Platform(s): PC
  • Developer: Phoenix Online Studios
  • Publisher: Phoenix Online Studios
  • ESRB Ratings: Everyone
  • Release Date: July 9th, 2010